Inside Sacred Texts with Cynthia Bourgeault, Willis Barnstone, and Ken McLeod

Date 22 Apr 2016
Time 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Details

What makes a text sacred? Have there been gender biases in the translations of sacred texts? Why are the newly-discovered gospels of Thomas, Philip, Judas, and Mary Magdalene so important?

Hosted by author Phil Cousineau, Inside Sacred Texts explores the origins, translations, and interpretations of sacred or revered texts, and sheds light on the mystical experience these texts often originate from. This unique program brings knowledgeable, engaging scholars, translators, and practitioners (Willis Barnstone, Cynthia Bourgeault, and Ken McLeod) from three faiths together to explore how these seminal texts, which form the foundation of most world religions and have influenced entire civilizations are, in some cases, now being reappraised.


BROADCAST DETAILS

Streamed globally: 7:00 pm PST / 10:00 pm EST / 3:00 am GMT

LinkTV broadcast: Direct TV channel 375 or DISH Network channel 9410 (4:00 and 7:00 pm PST / 7:00 and 10:00 pm EST)

For more information (including guest bios and sneak previews), to view the live webcast, and to access the Conversation Guide, visit the Inside Sacred Texts page.