Board of Directors and Staff

ABOUT OUR BOARD: The current board of The Contemplative Society was elected at the Annual General Meeting on October 20, 2018 in Victoria, BC, Canada. Board members bring to the society a broad range of skills and experience. It is a working board in which members take leadership in areas to which they are drawn.

Board members maintain a regular meditation practice and are committed to the vision and mission of The Contemplative Society. They are familiar with the Christian contemplative tradition and with the audio and written works of Cynthia Bourgeault and other teachers of the contemplative path. They frequently attend various contemplative events and small study groups.

Working well together is balanced with having fun together, and board members bring humour, dedication, and commitment to the task of directing the ongoing growth and evolution of The Contemplative Society.

To view the bylaws by which we are governed in accordance with BC’s Society Act, please download a copy.


P1150423_smlHenri Lock, President
Henri Lock is a United Church chaplain at the University of Victoria. He teaches Centering Prayer to the UVic campus community and mentors four meditation sessions per week there. He has been a member of TCS since 2005.

Gerald Morton, Treasurer
Gerald Morton has been a member of TCS since 2011 and a board member since Spring 2012. He has shared leadership of weekly contemplative prayer meetings at St. Philip Church in Victoria for two years.


P1150424_smlBarb Britton, Secretrary
Barb Britton became a member of TCS after attending a retreat with Cynthia Bourgeault at Hollyhock in 2008. She has been a Board member since 2010. Barb currently volunteers with adults with disabilities and with middle school students in India for part of the year.

P1150440_smlKim Gye
Kim Gye is a business owner and father of two girls. He feels that the contemplative practice supports his life goals to be a better father, partner, and employer. While he acknowledges the daily practice can be a struggle at times, he finds it has highlighted areas of growth for him. Kim feels grateful to support TCS in his role as an Board member since Spring 2012.

P1150448_smlLiz Vickers
Liz Vickers has had a meditation practice for over 30 years. She has been a member of TCS since 2011, and member of the Board since spring 2012. She enthusiastically participates in and promotes Prayer in the Style of Taizé in Victoria.


Ruth Dantzer2_SmlRuth Dantzer
Ruth joined the Board in March 2016. She has experience as a chaplain, retreat leader, spiritual director, and yoga teacher. Currently, she is the Anglican chaplain at the University of Victoria. Ruth began her meditation practice in 1999 through her immersion in the Tibetan Buddhist tradition. She discovered Centering Prayer in 2002 while studying Contemplative Christianity at Naropa University. From there she attended several retreats with Father Thomas Keating at his monastery in Snowmass, Colorado, and eventually was introduced to Cynthia Bourgeault. As life allows, she has been practicing ever since.

Barbara Hansen
Barbara is an active “retired” diaconal minister within the United Church of Canada. Contemplative practices have anchored her daily life for many years and she has been able to integrate them into her ministry. She credits her call into ministry as coming through children. Children have often been her teachers. They remind her to slow down, to notice the texture of the leaves, to find joy in sitting quietly and observing Creation’s tiniest beings. It was a group of 10-year-old boys who reminded her every day needs sabbath time! She looks forward to continuing deep learning through her involvement with The Contemplative Society.

James (Jim) Douglass
Jim has practiced daily meditation since 2007 and began Centering Prayer in early 2018. He became a member of TCS in 2018 and joined the board in October that year. Prior to retiring at the end of 2015, Jim spent 35 years in the corporate environment. His areas of management experience include statistical services, marketing, sales, operations, and information technology.  For ten of those years, he held general manager positions with full management, as well as profit and loss authority, for divisions of several corporations. He also was a financial advisor at Morgan Stanley for nine years. Jim has been an active volunteer with multiple charities, most recently including board positions with the Center for Mindful Self-Compassion and Pepperdine University’s Graduate School of Education and Psychology. Jim earned his PhD in educational psychology at Michigan State University in 1980.

Sho Ya Voorthuyzen
Bio coming soon.



Sharon Taylor fills the role of The Contemplative Society Administrator, working from our office and production centre in Victoria, BC.

Sharon comes from a varied background of teaching, non-profit management, and immigrant settlement work. She also has been involved in the Anglican Church for many years, as a Lay Minister as well as Choral Director, Cantor, and Taizé leader, with a strong interest in inter-faith and multi-cultural collaboration.



This position is currently vacant.

Please feel free to contact us with your input, questions, feedback, and suggestions:
Phone: 250-381-9650